Use of Self-Attestation

HNWMedicaid Eligibility and Asset Protection Planning

  • States may accept self-attestation of non-financial eligibility criteria for Medicaid, except as required by law or regulation (citizenship and immigration status, Asset Verification System).

States must accept self-attestation of pregnancy unless the state has information that is not reasonably compatible with attestation.

  • States must accept self-attestation of information needed to determine eligibility, including reasonable explanations, from all of the following:
    • the applicant,
    • an adult in the applicant’s household or family,
    • authorized representative, or
    • someone acting responsibly for the individual (if minor or incapacitated).
  • States may accept reasonable explanations of discrepancies between attested information and data sources instead of documentation.

To discuss your NJ Medicaid matter, please contact Fredrick P. Niemann, Esq. toll-free at (855) 376-5291 or email him at  Please ask us about our video conferencing or telephone consultations if you are unable to come to our office.

By Fredrick P. Niemann, Esq. of Hanlon Niemann & Wright, a Freehold Township, Monmouth County, NJ Medicaid Attorney

Previous PostNext Post