New Jersey Charges Members of an LLC an Annual Fee for the Privilege of Being Located in New Jersey

HNWBusiness Law

Here is a question I was recently asked by a client interested in starting up a small business in New Jersey.   Does the State charge annually a business fee for more than 1 or 2 members of a NJ LLC for the privilege of doing business in New Jersey?  I had forgotten it’s been so long since I dealt with LLC filing requirements and annual renewals.

I was not surprised to research that when an LLC has three or more members, New Jersey charges $150.00 per member each year.   No fees are due for one or two members of an LLC.   A single member LLC is considered a disregarded entity and generally files a Schedule C on a personal return.   The annual registration fee to New Jersey is $50.00.

To discuss your NJ LLC matter, please contact Fredrick P. Niemann, Esq. toll-free at (855) 376-5291 or email him at  Please ask us about our video conferencing consultations if you are unable to come to our office.

By Fredrick P. Niemann, Esq. of Hanlon Niemann & Wright, a Freehold Township, Monmouth County New Jersey LLC Attorney


Previous PostNext Post